It is quite easy to share folders, files and documents on Google Drive . Obviously, one of the most popular cloud storage services , it has interesting options to share any kind of document or folder. In this article we are going to learn how to get and, if necessary, how to stop sharing a document in Drive.
Share folders, files, and documents on Google Drive
With the cloud storage service, we can share the folders or documents in Drive directly using just the email address. We can also do it through an invite link and share it on any website. The process for sharing a document or a folder that contains multiple files is the same.
By default, all the documents we have in Google Drive are private, no one can have access to them. However, each time we view one, we will have the ability to share them by clicking on the button that says “Share” in the upper right corner of the screen.
From the same file explorer interface, we can share the files we want. For this, we are going to have to right click on the one we want to share and simply select the “Share” option.
Once we have this clear, we go to the menu that will appear when we select the “Share” option. It will be divided into two parts. If we want to add a specific person we can add the email address in the upper part of this window.
In the box that says “Add people or groups” we will have to search for a person that we have as a contact or directly add their email address.
In this option we can add up to 100 people . Then we will have a drop-down menu where we can choose how many permissions we give to the file in question and the options are:
- Editor: you will be able to view, comment on and edit the entire document in question. Ideal to share with highly trusted people or colleagues.
- Commentator – The person can view the content and add comments, but cannot edit the file.
- Viewer: The person will be able to see the content, but they will not be able to edit it or leave comments.
We are going to have to make sure that the “Notify people” option is enabled. In this way they will receive an email that will notify them about the shared document.
In case we wish, we can add a comment or personal note. Once we have everything ready, the only thing left to do is simply click on the “Send” button to be able to send the invitation.
Share Google Drive files using a link
Another alternative we have is the ability to share documents with anyone on the web without even knowing their email address. For this we will have to look for the option “Get link” that is just below the one we discussed earlier.
We will have to click on “Change to anyone with the link.”
When we do, new options will appear to be able to choose the level of access that all the people who access through said link will have. By default you can only view the document, you will not be able to edit or leave comments.
However, from the drop-down menu on the right side we can change this to “Editor” or “Commentator”.
Once we have everything ready, we will have to click on the button that says “Copy link” that is just to the right of the file link. This link is the one that we must share on the web so that other people can access the document.
Stop sharing a document or files on Google Drive
Sometimes we will want to stop sharing different files. Just as we have two options to share them, we can also stop doing it and it is very easy to get it.
The first thing we should do is click on the “Share” button on the toolbar of the document in question. Then we will right click on the Google Drive file and we will have to choose “Share”.
Here we will be able to view all the users who have access to said document. All we have to do is click on the drop-down menu on the right side of each one and choose “Remove” or “Delete”. In this way we will be able to eliminate the user and they will no longer have access to the document or folder.
In case you were sharing the link and we want to disable it. We are simply going to have to click on “Share” in the document and look for the option “Get link” at the bottom. Next, we are going to click on the drop-down menu that says “Anyone with link” and we will change it to “Restricted”.
From now on, no one will be able to enter the document. You will not be able to view, edit or comment on it. When we finish with the changes, we simply click on “Done”.
Share it with your friends!